Tags

,

As I was going through my travel junk from the past, look what I found among my collection of currency. 

The big one is a two-pounder, while the smaller one is a five pence.

All I could think of upon seeing the coins were, “yes, I can now buy a bottle of water upon landing in Heathrow.”

There are two significant issues in my previous statement. The first one is the act of purchasing which, of course, involves money.  Money is always an issue for any traveler, is it not?  One is constantly made aware of one’s budget for the day, for the week, and for the entire duration of the journey.  You don’t want to see the sights on an empty stomach.  And you also don’t want to come back home practically a beggar after gallivanting abroad, so you keep track of your wallet and its contents (meager or otherwise to begin with) every chance you’ve got.

As a traveler, I’m quite paranoid with those chances.

The second issue is that of water.  Why water, you ask?  Well, I do get easily dehydrated every time I travel.  I blame those flight attendants who seem to count the number of ounces they give to the passengers (especially those traveling in coach).  By the time the plane lands on any foreign soil, my body is practically all dried up, my head up in the clouds, and my visits to the WC all cut down in half (and you do know how that affects one’s tummy regimen).

And a bottle of water is, yes, quite expensive abroad. It’s not like you can buy one bottle for 25 pence in London (good luck!), roughly the price of one bottle of SM Bonus H20 at the local grocery.

I guess that ‘s one of the things I always miss while traveling.  The cheap cost of living (and traveling) in my beloved Pinas. Heck, one can eat for a day with just 2 pounds and 5 pence in my country (thank you, Jolly value meals).  But in London?  That will just cover a bottle of distilled (and sometimes fizzy) water.

So here’s to finding more coins in my closet.

Of course, the ones that fold are more preferable than the ones that jingle.

— Frankie

