…thanks to Frankie’s Plurk!

I am on complete and unabashed vacation mode; I haven’t been online because mainly, I want to catch up on my outrageously growing reading backlog. Not to worry, my witchy two. I got all my supporting documents ready, even made an early request for an employment certificate before I went on hibernation. So yay, I can go to the embassy with Frankie in January! Gissy, you are so lucky. Not having to get a visa is one less thing for you to worry about.

I have to be honest, though. Sometimes I feel I’m groping blindly here. The feeling is both wonderful and scary. Wonderful because this might be the adventure I need before I settle down in Canada. Scary because no one’s arranging it for me. And please don’t get me started on my budget. We have less than five months to prepare. Gulp.

Anyway, I’ve spent the last few days reading The Season of Passage by my favorite YA author Christopher Pike and I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. It’s funny that I should be reading them at the same time. The first one is about a lady astronaut on her way to Mars—and to her doom. (Not that the UK is anything like Mars, but it will definitely be alien to me as this is going to be my first trip beyond the borders of Asia. And hopefully, minus the alien scum.) The second one is about a girl who lives in an old English castle and writes in a journal in order to teach herself how to write. J.K. Rowling says, “This book has one of the most charismatic narrators I’ve ever met. Seventeen-year-old Cassandra Mortmain captures the castle in her insightful, witty journal entries.” I mean, who better to trust than J.K.R., right?

