Tags

, , , , ,

is not as easy as I thought it would be. Apart from adjusting to the time difference, I’m also adjusting to being in a new environment. What do Filipinos call it? Namamahay? But thank God for good friends like Christine and Richard who’ve been absolutely amazing hosts.

My gracious hosts.

Little Zack

After Richard picked me up from the airport last Monday morning, we drove back their home in Guildford and I was able to rest up and re-pack for our mini-trip to Cornwall that afternoon. Christine’s dad, Tito Efren, was just as I had remembered him since that last time we saw each other. I forget now, but I think it was when the Manlongats were in Sydney some 5 or 6 years ago. And, I finally met little Zack. He’s the perfect baby in every way!

Right, so after freshening up – I did travel a total of 22 hours – we were off to Cornwall. From Guildford, it takes about 5 hours’ drive, I think.

Traveling to Cornwall

On the way there, we pass by Exmouth, Exeter, and Penzance. See, these are all the places that I remember going through. You must remember I was fighting very hard against jetlag. And no, I didn’t see any singing pirates at Penzance. Maybe later…

The highlight of today’s trip for me was stopping at Jurassic Coast in the Budleigh Salterton Pebbly Beach area. I didn’t see any fossils but the mere fact that I could see an outcrop of that era was mind-blowing. Like I said in my previous post, geology nerd right here.

Can you say self-portrait with a Canon 7D?

We arrive at our little holiday place probably around 5PM. The Mithens have booked us a three-bedroom apartment in Gull’s Cry. The name of our accommodations is Antoine Terrace, located in Newlyn, a suburb of Penzance. The owners of the place left us proper Cornish treats! I’ve had scones with strawberry jam and whipped cream before but I haven’t really had proper Cornish tea until last Monday. We had tea with milk, scones with strawberry jam and the ultimate to-die-for clotted cream. As my friend, Rhea, said in an email earlier, double cream has nothing on clotted cream. Nothing. (Incidentally, Rhea was also in Cornwall about a week or so ago. We’ll be meeting up in Cambridge next week.)

Next time, I’ll tell you all about our trip to see St. Michael’s Mount, Minack Theater, and Land’s End.

Windswept look. St. Michael's Mount in the background.

