Tags

, , , ,

First trip to London in 2007.

There hasn’t been much movement at this blog but that doesn’t mean I haven’t stopped thinking about our recently concluded trip. In fact, I’ve been mulling over how I can pick my favourite photos and put them together as a slideshow. While I’m working that out in my head, I’m humming along to Jamie Cullum’s song. I don’t recall which came first, my hearing Jamie’s song or my first trip to London. Maybe it happened almost simultaneously, who knows? All I know is that the song represents how I see London too. I just love this song.

Jamie Cullum – London Skies live at North Sea Jazz 2009

Paint a picture,
Clear cut and pale on a cold winter’s day,
Shapes and cool light wander the streets like an army of strays,
On a cold winter’s day. 

Will you let me romanticize, 
The beauty in our London Skies, 
You know the sunlight always shines, 
Behind the clouds of London skies. 

Patient moments chill to the bone under infinite greys, 
Vision hindered mist settling low like a ghostly ballet, 
On a cold winter’s day. 

Nothing is certain ‘cept everything you know can change, 
you worship the sun but now 
can you fall for the rain… 

Will you let me romanticize, 
The beauty in our London Skies, 
You know the sunlight always shines, 
Behind the clouds of London Skies. 

