Tags

, , ,

What was supposed to be a day of work, work, and more work turned out to be fun, fun, and loads more of fun with colleagues. That’s not to say that no work was accomplished, oh no. We worked our asses off, indeed. We brainstormed, we picked each other’s braincells, we reported to the whole group, we out-talked ourselves, and we brainstormed some more. That’s always the deal when you say goodbye to the outgoing school year and  try to welcome (albeit grudgingly) the incoming one.

Anyway, as I’ve been suffering from insomnia for the past few months or so, and the night before the meeting was not any different from the many nights before, I came to the workshop with my brain not exactly in tiptop shape. I was in my usual zombie mode, and it persisted all throughout the day. I was, in the local parlance, lutang. Most of the time I would find myself wandering off, imagining meadows and lakes, and blue birds chirping, and squirrels and deer and other forest animals frolicking about, and hills that are alive with the sound of music (Disney meets Maria, yes).

I missed my dear old colleague and close friend, the one I always refer to as the Muggle Professor, that day. He took an early retirement you see and so, there I was, feeling all alone amidst all the literati in the rom. I missed exchanging notes with him (something we always do everytime we’re bored), and whispering stupid and not so stupid remarks, and making fun of something or someone, or just having a friend sit next you, you know what I mean? I miss him terribly. I think it will take me a long while to adjust to a university life without him around.

But that was the workshop. Let’s now talk about the play that came after. It’s more fun, I promise.

While I did gravely miss my Muggle Prof friend, I missed him all the more in the after-work playtime. The entire department had dinner at Vikings, and oh, all that glorious food (Muggle Prof would have loved all that fresh seafood)! I had no gall to take photos of all the food I ate, save for what I had for dessert (because it’s too beautiful to eat, I swear).

Image

Yummmeh! My assortment of sweets to die for. Flan and panacotta and cake and . . .can you see the gold shimmer on top of that slice of cake??

It was a two hour buffet dinner and we all had our fill. Thank heavens for the oolong tea to equalize the very sinful dinner.

Afterwards the whole team trooped to Pan Pacific Hotel where we would stay for the night.  Wonderfully surprising was my Chair and the secretary upgraded my room (I was supposed to share a room with another colleague). And not just any single occupancy room, oh no. It was one of those business class suites. Lots of space, lots of fantastic amenities, lots of things I never even imagined I would need for a one night stay.  The Chair told me that for my 17 odd years of service to the school, a room upgrade was the least she could do, hahaha.  🙂

Image

If ambience could kill. . . .

Image

The work area even had all sorts of sockets and outlets for all your gadgets.

Image

A Pillow Menu right by the side table. I swear I wanted to do cartwheels when I saw this. I mean, seriously? A menu? Of pillows? Heaven for a pillow connoisseur like me.

My own bathroom. I swear it's large enough to be somebody's bedroom.

My own bathroom. I swear it’s large enough to be somebody’s bedroom.

 

Image

My own little telly as I took a luxurious bath. I experimented with the various bath salts they provided for me.

Image

My feet over the “window” in between the bedroom and the bathroom. How. . . curious. 😀

They even gave me apples, courtesy of my friendly butler.

They even gave me apples, courtesy of my friendly butler.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With all that stuff, you’d think I’d have a good night’s sleep, right? Well, no. I kept tossing and turning and tossing and turning *rinse, lather, repeat* until the alarm clock told me it’s already 430 am. And then I kept on tossing and turning and tossing. . . I guess it was already 5 am when I finally had some not-so-decent shut eye. Only to be woken up at 8 am for the scheduled breakfast with colleagues, of course.  Ho-hummmm. . . .

After another buffet breakfast courtesy of the hotel, some of us went to the nearest mall to do some shopping (for the curious ones, I bought a Jimmy Choo fragrance. Lancome’s Miracle was not available, boo!) and then we had a late lunch over at Arya’s where I had Baba Ghannuj and Turkish Coffee.

Starbucks has nothing on their Turkish Coffee. Taob na taob.

Starbucks has nothing on their Turkish Coffee. Taob na taob.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So there. That’s what I’ve been up to these past few days. A good dose of work and play. I work hard, sure. But nobody can accuse me of not loving myself enough. As the late great Ms. Houston once said, “learning to love yourself is the greatest love of all.”

Until next update, friends! I hope you are all enjoying whatever it is you’re doing. If not, then what are you waiting for?

 

