Tags

,

Okay, some of you might think I’m just some wealthy woman who loves to spend her money on material things. Let me debunk that. I’m just a teacher. In the Philippines. While I am already tenured, I cannot and will not claim to be rich. I just know how to spend my money on things that make me happy: food, clothes, shoes, bags, movies, DVDs, spas, geek stuff. . . you know, essential stuff.

And yes, I also save my hard-earned money because I’m responsible that way.

I tweeted a statement a few days ago, something like, “I know money can’t buy me love, but it sure can buy me books, dvds, a new pair of shoes and jeans.” It’s quite a flippant statement, I suppose. But hey, I have my moments, too.

Anyway, so there I was this morning at the mall, at the bookstore to be more specific, just aimlessly walking about, when a complete stranger approached me out of the shelves. I knew even before I looked at her what she was going to offer. I’ve been approached many times before, see. In fact, it was the very same method by which I became a member of Greenpeace. I was “recruited” at that very same mall a couple of years ago.  I’m just wondering why they haven’t charged my credit card for the support I pledged, hmm. . . And just last February, I was also approached by some folks to join WWF, another organization that also appeals to the environment. But since I was already with Greenpeace, I thought joining WWF would be too much of a good thing. I didn’t want to spread myself (both interest and resources) too thin. Hey, do I look like I’m some rich gal out to share my credit card number with just about anyone? No, I don’t think so. I would love to think that I’m the kind who looks like she could help, hence the numerous approaches from various volunteers.

This time, the volunteer was from UNICEF.

Since the movie that I was killing time for will not happen in about 40 minutes, I decided to hear her out. I mean, I know how important UNICEF is and the kind of work that they do.

Short of it, I am now a proud member and supporter of UNICEF. They call me and fellows like me Champion for Children.

*naks*

I figured, well why not? I spend my money on superficial things. Why not spend it on something that is of great value? If I can buy expensive books and dvds on a monthly basis, why not donate my money on something that will help kids not only reach their 5th birthdays, but also help them with their education? I mean, isn’t that what I, as an educator, should be doing in the first place? To help kids learn?

There’s this one bag that I’ve been dreaming of ordering at amazon.com for months now. It’s quite an expensive bag. But this morning I realized, that one bag is more expensive than a one year basic donation to UNICEF. That’s just one bag, not even inclusive of the shipping and handling fees. One bag over some kids’ health and education?

It’s a no-brainer.

So there you go. I signed up for a two-year pledge. I can always upgrade my donation if my wallet allows it, but let’s see. I do have some travel plans in the near future, so gotta save intensely as well.

Anyway, if you want to be a Champion for Children too, just tell me and I will share with you the specific details for reaching UNICEF.  It’s a good thing 🙂

In the meantime, goodbye, dream bag. You’re not as crucial in my list as the kids in my country.

