Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Do you know why you’re here? No, I don’t mean here reading our blog. I mean, here on this Earth. I must admit, I’ve never really given it that much thought lately. Actually, I haven’t really thought about why I even exist at all. I guess I’ve just learned to just be. Probably doesn’t make any sense but no matter.

There are so many things to blog about but I’m not ready to express my thoughts just yet. It’s not earth-shattering epiphanies or anything like that. Just little observations as I navigate through life. But I suppose I could give you a few updates.

I finally finished my Certificate IV in Occupational Health and Safety! Whew! Took me long enough with my procrastination but now it’s time to study something else. Photography perhaps? Or voice lessons?

Oh yes, I’m singing again! You have no idea how happy I am being part of the Filipino Chaplaincy-Chatswood Parish (FCCP) Vocal Ensemble. The last time I was in a singing group was when I was in high school. I’ve always loved to sing. I wake up every morning and that’s the first thing I do. I sing! I could never make a career out of it as I don’t think I’m good enough but if given a chance to sing for a living, I wouldn’t say no! (As an aside, do you know that I would never trust a man who doesn’t appreciate music? Yeah, I’m that kind of a music nerd.)

Here’s a link to our group practicing at my apartment a few Saturdays ago:
When I fall in love by the FCCP Vocal Ensemble

It’s not perfect yet but we’ve gotten better since the first time we rehearsed this song. And in case you were wondering, that’s me doing the solo. Yikes! I need to strengthen my lungs!

An almost complete photo of our choir with our little muse! :)

An almost complete photo of our choir with our little muse! 🙂

We sing every first Sunday of the month during the Filipino Mass at the Our Lady of Dolours Church in Chatswood, NSW. We also sing every 4th Sunday of the month during the 9:00AM Mass at the same church.

I love how things fall into place and people come into our lives seemingly at random and yet they have a specific purpose. It’s kind of a long story how I got into this choir. Okay, I’ll try to make it as quick as possible

Giselle meets Carol through Gerald. Gerald mentions Giselle sings. Carol invites Giselle to come to the Filipino Mass and possibly sing with the choir. Giselle attends practice one hour before said Mass and is invited to join choir and the rest is history.

Giselle does City2Surf2013! I’m doing a marathon next month! Can you believe that?! If you click on the link above, that takes you to my donations page. You can find out more about what City2Surf is and what my nominated charity, beyondblue, is all about and why I chose that charity. And if you are so inclined, please help me reach my goal by donating any amount that you can. I would really appreciate it!

I’m not a very fast runner by any stretch of the imagination but I am willing to push myself to the limit. And I always have to go back to my favourite verse, Philippians 4:13.

Indeed, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Okay, this brings me back to my original question about purpose of existence. Why do I think we are here? I think it’s so that we can be the best that we can be as God has designed us. I think it’s so we may always live our lives as an example of His love and to continue to be a positive influence for the people around us. I know, it’s not that easy but if we wake up each morning with that kind of a mindset, then there really is no reason to be sad or angry or to complain. Moreover, there is no reason to be jealous or spiteful and display downright insidious* behaviour towards another human being.

Yes, it is a simplistic view of the world and life but I think it’s time we got back to the basics, don’t you think?


*Thank you, Rochelle! This is my word of the month!

