Tags

, , ,

City2Surf was today. Yes, that 14km run from Sydney to Bondi Beach. What an amazing experience! I didn’t finish very fast – I think I did 2.40 hours – but I had an awesome time. I ran, and mostly walked, skipped, danced, and even stopped to take photos and, and, and…sing karaoke! At around the 4 or maybe 5 km mark, there was a Westpac karaoke set-up and anyone who stopped to sing, they would donate $50 to the Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service. I sang “Call me maybe” with this random dude wearing a shirt that said, “I’d run for a snog.” No, we didn’t kiss but we danced and sang for a bit. I made friends with two dogs and got sprayed by a man with a garden hose. This was of my own free will, mind you. It was his way of helping us runners cool down. šŸ™‚ As I’ve always said, I tell stories better with pictures so here’s a barrage of them for your amusement. I can’t wait to join again next year!

This was taken yesterday, when I picked up my race bib from Moore Park. I look so happy. Today, I was still smiling when I got to the finish line. Whew.

This was taken yesterday, when I picked up my race bib from Moore Park. I look so happy. Today, I was still smiling when I got to the finish line. Whew.

My running buddy, Norman, who left me after 1.5km! Hahaha. Good job, though, dude!

My running buddy, Norman, who left me after 1.5km! He finished it in under two hours! Good job, kumpare!

All smiles at the starting line.

All smiles at the starting line at 9AM. Starting time was at 9.35AM.

While waiting for our turn to run, we saw this in the sky. I take it as a sign. I am the Total G. Harhar.

While waiting for our turn to run, we saw this in the sky. I take it as a sign. I am the Total G. Harhar.

City2Space?! Sure, I'll come with yah but do the space suits come in other colours, say, lilac?

City2Space?! Sure, I’ll come with yah but do the space suits come in other colours, say, lilac?

So many people! Apparently, there were 88,000 participants this year.

So many people! Apparently, there were 84,000 participants this year.

Hey, I've seen this guy before. I think he's a regular at big Sydney events with this sign.

Hey, I’ve seen this guy before. I think he’s a regular at big Sydney events with this sign.

You gotta admit, they look pretty hot. This random dude in the photo is Filipino. I said kamusta as I passed him and his friends.

You gotta admit, they look pretty hot. This random dude in the photo is Filipino. I said kamusta as I passed him and his friends.

And I get derailed some more.

And I get derailed some more.

Then there's this view!

Then there’s this view!

This is Vegas. What a cutie-pie!

This is Vegas. What a cutie-pie! He was watching us from the kerb with another dog named Linus. šŸ™‚

She was looking for singers so I said, I'll sing! Yes, this was where I did the karaoke for charity.

She was looking for singers so I said, I’ll sing! Yes, this was where I did the karaoke for charity.

Cool senior citizens band playing at a bus stop along the route.

Cool senior citizens band playing at a bus stop along the route.

I bet you he's Pinoy.

I bet you he’s Pinoy.

I love motivational posters.

I love motivational posters. (Brought to you by Nova 96.9 FM.)

Finally!

Finally!

Represent!

Represent!

So close! I sprinted and made sure to pass in front of the video camera and the photographers. LOL.

So close! I sprinted and made sure to pass in front of the video camera and the photographers. LOL.

I did it!

I did it!

Catching up with friends. :)

Catching up with friends. šŸ™‚

Bondi Beach.

Bondi Beach.

I finished my beef burger and walked another 7km to Coogee Beach. When I got there, I had ice cream. :)

I finished my beef burger and walked another 7km to Coogee Beach. When I got there, I had ice cream. šŸ™‚

Off my bucket list but definitely coming back next year. I think I'm going to take a break from running for a few weeks.

Off my bucket list but definitely coming back next year. I think I’m going to take a break from running for a few weeks.

When I first decided to join, I thought it would just be about running but then there was the option for fund-raising. I couldn’t pass up the chance and so I made a donations page. At first, I wasn’t sure I was going to meet my target of $700 but look at this, I surpassed it. It wouldn’t have been possible without the help of generous family and friends. You are all heroes! Thank you so much! šŸ™‚

We raised $1,090 for beyondblue! THANK YOU!

We raised $1,090 for beyondblue! THANK YOU!

