Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love this India Arie song. And no, I’m not going through some sort of crisis. Well, at least I don’t think so. I’m fine, people. Relax!

Okay, maybe I’m a little restless but anyone who knows me knows that this is my default setting. I’ve always loved doing stuff to my hair. Since I was about 19, I think this would have been the only year that I didn’t have my hair coloured. I’ve done blue, purple, and red. But I’ll pass on the pink and the green.

This is in some ways, a form of personal artistic expression. I’ve been through many, many hairstyles but these are my latest ones.

Earlier this year, I looked like this:

I miss my long hair sometimes.

I miss my long hair sometimes.

And then I grew weary of the long hair and decided I wanted shorter hair.

Pleased with my asymmetrical cut.

Pleased with my asymmetrical cut.

I thought that if I cut my hair it would be easier to manage but no. With shorter hair, I spent longer in front of the mirror blow drying and fixing it, even having to whip out the hair straightener. I know, I know, my hair is so straight. Don’t ask why!

And then I had a bright idea about a week ago…

Tadah!

Corn rows!

Corn rows!

Yep, I am committed. So for the next couple of weeks, I’m saying goodbye to my shampoo, conditioner, and hair brush. Dear lord, help me. Hahaha.

I have to thank my awesome hair dresser goddess, Vivian for doing my corn rows. She’s amazing at what she does and is such a cool person. We just chatted away like crazy. 🙂

Her salon is called Braids of Africa and is located in Croydon Park, NSW.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Remember when I did this last year? Ate Ann, who works at a salon in Lidcombe, helped create this look.

Feeling like a rockstar...not!

Feeling like a rockstar…not!

This one I won’t try again. It’s just so hard to maintain and also, growing out that shaved side is a pain.

And who could forget this from April 2012?! (Also by Ate Ann.)

That's exactly the effect I want when I braid my hair.

That’s exactly the effect I want when I braid my hair.

Will I ever stop playing with my hair? Probably not. It’s just so much fun. You ought to try it too but don’t do crazy stuff like me. Well, you could so long as you remember to commit. 🙂

