Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last February, I embarked on an epic adventure to the great Australian outback with three of my work friends. We hadn’t been called out in the field for a while and were getting a little bit bored just sitting around doing nothing. This was probably the quickest planned trip ever. (Well, not that I helped in the planning. This time I just turned up.)

What a road trip it was indeed. The girls left from Newcastle on the 5th of February and drove all the way to Brisbane and then to Cairns. I flew in the Cairns on the morning of the 11th and we started our journey to Alice Springs. We stopped at various towns to refuel, check local sites, and sleep. Once at Alice Springs, Trin and Beck did the Uluru tour on the 14th while Kelly and I did it on the 16th. Because of work, Beck had to fly out of Alice Springs to Sydney on the 15th. As for me, I had a flight back to Sydney on the 19th and so couldn’t continue on the road trip from Alice Springs to Darwin. Instead, I took a plane to Darwin and enjoyed a day and a half of touring by myself. Trin and Kelly eventually made it to Darwin on the 20th (I think) and stayed there until their flight back to Sydney on the 23rd.

Here’s our road trip in photos:

Catching up with the girls. This is the inside of our Britz caravan.

Catching up with the girls. This is the inside of our Britz caravan.

Their epic adventure started in Newcastle and ended in Darwin. My road trip leg started from Cairns and ended in Alice Springs. I took the plane from Alice Springs to Darwin and then from Darwin to Sydney.

Their epic adventure started in Newcastle and ended in Darwin. My road trip leg started from Cairns and ended in Alice Springs. I took the plane from Alice Springs to Darwin and then flew back to Sydney.

Our caravan.

Our caravan. This was just after the girls picked me up from Cairns Airport. We made a pit stop at a servo to fuel up and have something to eat.

Would have loved to stroll down to the wharf but it was raining in Cairns. :(

Would have loved to stroll down to the wharf but it was raining in Cairns. 😦

Mario sits shotgun while Beck and I wait for Trin and Kelly to buy us some crab burgers.

Mario sits shotgun while Beck and I wait for Trin and Kelly to buy us some crab burgers.

Oops, I didn't even capture the sign we were pointing at. Here it is below...

Oops, I didn’t even capture the sign we were pointing at. Here it is…

Only 1,155 km to go!

Only 1,155 km to go!

And so we drove, hoping we wouldn't be caught in any brewing storm.

And so we drove, hoping we wouldn’t be caught in any storm.

Will you look at that! 130 speed limit. Woohoo!

Will you look at that! 130 speed limit. Woohoo!

1. Last town before we cross to the Northern Territory.  2. Look at that weird roo with horns!  3. Mario sits atop an ant hill. 4. Me and the Britz.

1. Last town before we cross to the Northern Territory.
2. Spot Mario on the weird roo with horns.
3. Mario sits atop an ant hill.
4. Me and the Britz.

We missed the boundary marker between Queensland and the Northern Territory.

We missed the boundary marker between Queensland and the Northern Territory.

Wide open road.

Wide open road.

We made it to the Northern Territory, yay! But we still had a ways to go. Next time, I’ll tell you what happens after we cross the border. Hope you enjoyed some of the photos and I promise to continue this story soon!

– Giselle

