Tags

, ,

Last week I made a booboo at work. Now that rarely happens. Modesty aside, me forgetting to do something work-related happens about. . . never. Well, almost never if last week is to be the new gauge. Anyway, as I sat there in front of my work desk, hoping that my booboo gets a turnaround, I made a little self-bargain (I know you do it, too); you know, along the lines of “I swear I’d give up (fill in the blank) if I get a second chance at this” or “I’d willingly not do (fill in the blank) if it means I’d get a reprieve from the mistake I made.”

Well, it so happens that the blank I was willing to give up that moment was social media. At first I thought, “I swear I won’t post anything for a day!” which, because of my desperation as a result of my work-related blunder, progressed into, “I swear I won’t post anything for the rest of the week!”

And you know what happened? The Universe heard my plea and right before I boarded the train going home, gave me a positive response.

A second chance!

Of course I was ecstatic. Of course it also meant I’d have to give up going online for the rest of the week. Which I did. And now I’m back with a vengeance, hahaha.

The thing was, this brief respite from social media allowed me to be more reflective and self-reflexive about my thoughts and my actions. What I would normally immediately share or post or say had to be reined in. I had to be constantly aware of putting on the brakes lest I violate my agreement with the Universe. It was difficult at first (especially in light of the things that happened the past several days, believe me. More on that later), but I got the hang of it as the days went by.

Funny thing was, it wasn’t so much taking a brief respite from social media that made the past few days difficult for me, far from it. It was a break from another thing that, until now, I’m still struggling with.

It was my break with coffee.

551dd214821af

Imagine taking a break from social media the same time I took a break from coffee. And it’s not as if I intend to take a break from coffee for a week, no. I intend to do it on a permanent basis.

WHAAAAAAAT????! (and the caffeinated crowd went wild)

Yes. I’ve decided to stop drinking coffee. Why, you ask? Well, it all started with a comment from my orthodontist, you see. She casually mentioned coffee stains on my teeth last week, during my latest dental appointment, and vanity of vanities, that got me thinking. I have spent so much, and continue to spend so much on my teeth, why would I let coffee ruin my set of pearly whites? Hence, my decision to stop drinking coffee. Of course it must be said that for the life of me I couldn’t bring myself to stop drinking tea (you might as well ask me to drop dead), so what I do now is to use a straw everytime I drink tea (I know, sacrilege, right?). Again, what price, vanity?

Then again, I realized that cutting out my coffee completely from my daily consumption can do wonders for me in so many ways. For one, that’s at least 100 calories out of my daily calorie intake. For two, I’d be finally spared from the unwanted palpitations I’ve been feeling of late (I know, I know, there’s always decaf, but that would be cheating). For three, that would be amazing on my wallet. Imagine the savings I’d make just by removing coffee from my lifestyle.

Of course, the withdrawal from coffee hasn’t been easy. I’ve been getting these terrible headaches for the past few days. At first I attributed it to Manila heat, then after taking several pills (to no avail), and staying put in gloriously airconditioned rooms (also to no avail), it dawned upon me. It’s not the heat, geddemit. It’s my body reacting to the caffeine withdrawal. I also feel a bit sluggish, but I’ve found ways to combat that.

Run, Frankie, run!

Yes, I’m back to running. That’s how I’ve been dealing with the sluggishness. It’s been months since I last wore my running shoes, yes, but now they’re back in action. I’ve been faithfully recording my progress vis-a-vis my daily calorie intake and so far I’m doing good. It was difficult the first couple of days since I actually sprained my right foot (it reminded me of an old friend’s mantra “If you don’t use it, you lose it!”) but now all is well. My personal goal is to run an equivalent of a marathon (that’s at least 42 km) every month, which means I need to cover at least 11 km per week. It’s been only a week’s worth of running but I can safely say I’m well within my target, having ran a cumulative of 15 km last week. That was just three days of running, but I intend to increase it to 5x/week starting this week.

Running and being healthy aside, another thing also happened to me last week which gave me palpitations stronger than those brought on by coffee.

I’ve been . . . oh how shall I put it? I’ve been having this email correspondence with my Idol (yes, MDL). It’s been a while since I last had contact with him (for a project that didn’t happen for some reason), and since I’m writing something else and had to verify an information about his father, I  took a shot at it and went right ahead, emailed him to ask for information that would help me in the writing. Of course I didn’t expect, didn’t even hope for a reply. But after a few days he did! Imagine my heart doing cartwheels as I read his reply. And oh, he even asked me if I already have a copy of his latest book and if I didn’t, he’d be happy to give me a copy. @#$!#$%! I thought I died and gone to happen. The most difficult aspect of trying to compose a reply was, of course, how to say “yes please gimme gimme gimme! And will you please sign it, too?” in a professional way. I didn’t want to sound foolish. Then again, I’ve already made several foolish things all in the name of my Idol, so what else is new, right? Ha. Ha. Ha. Anyway, I’ve been able to deal with the excitement as the emails continue to go back-and-forth. It now takes me a shorter time to reply, and an even shorter time to hit the send button minus the usual “oh did I say that right?” or “is that too desperate-sounding?” malarkey I usually say.

Anyway, that’s that. I’ve also seen Mad Max Fury Road last week and I loved it! Sorry, no time to write a full-length review but suffice it to say it’s the best movie I’ve seen so far this year. That guitar-playing moment was worth the price of admission, I tell you. Of course, the narrative was simple enough, but very engaging. The characters are amazing (love Furiosa!) and very badass. And the visuals are breath-taking. None of the CGI crap Hollywood’s been churning out for the past several years. This is real action, mind.

What else? I’ve also been playing catch up on my shows and my books. And also currently in the middle of thinking about a possible next project. We’ll see soon enough if I have enough energy left to do that. Will let you know if/once it happens.

F.

P.S. I’m still thinking of coffee, though. HELP!

